The Stuff in the Middle

You’ve heard from our eldest daughter, Maddie.  Now, I can’t wait to see how the girl sandwiched in between our three kids responds to these questions.  Kate is much more serious than the other two, but at times unpredictably funny.  She is a brilliant and deep thinker.  She could be anything when she grows up: a contortionist in the circus, a CEO of a million dollar company, an artist, a shrink, an attorney, a professional Jeopardy guest or even a street performer who runs a hot dog cart downtown.  She’s so dang awesome.

1.  Kate, why don’t you give me a list of all of the things you could possibly do when you grow up and why.  You are an idea gal AND a detail gal.  I think you could do so many different things.

I think this is a very good question for me, so here are just a few things on my list:

  • Own a coffee shop
  • Move to Alaska
  • Own an axolotl
  • Major in Food Science at a good college and minor in Psychology
  • Coach a traveling softball team

Apparently, THIS is an axoloti. Kate? This will never enter my house. Hell no.  Take it to your dad’s.

2.  Tell me what two of your greatest strengths are and what two of your possible weaknesses are.  How are your weaknesses actually strengths of yours?

One of my greatest strengths is my ability to be sensitive toward different minorities and diversity, considering that I have a rainbow family. Another is my ability not to care too much about what people think of me.

I think the two weaknesses I have would be that occasionally I’m not daring enough so I miss out on things (like roller coasters) and I get offended too much about what people say about other people.  I don’t think any of my weaknesses could be strengths though.

[Kate, it’s Mommy.  I beg to differ.  Your perceived weaknesses really are strengths.  For one, you’re careful, which makes me trust you more that you’re not going to do anything too stupid.  For two, you have a heart of gold and you care about other people’s feelings.  That’s a good thing.  You’ll learn how to reign in over-reactions to those things as you grow.  I’m proud of those “weaknesses” in you!  I’ll bet you other people in the comments below will agree with me.]

Kate really does not give up when she determines she needs to know something or learn how to do something. Look at this! She’s like seriously, a really good hoola-hooper.

3.  Tell me three things playing softball has taught you about yourself and life, besides the obvious softball skills that you’re learning.

The three things I’ve learned from playing softball are to always believe in yourself, have a positive attitude, and to be patient with other people. And that I have MAD SKILLS (tee hee).

She is a ham in front of the camera.

3.  What are your favorite kinds of foods, since I consider you a foodie?  You have exquisite tastes.

Honestly, I don’t think I could sum that all up in words, but I mainly like healthy colon cleansers, goat cheeses, and seaweed. Seaweed is very healthy for you AND its tasty.

Kate is very adventurous when it comes to trying new foods. I didn’t have the heart to remind her of Quinn the Quail’s recent passing when she tried this quail egg shot at sushi the other day.

3.  How do you work through frustrations while trying to achieve a goal?

When I do have frustrations when trying to achieve a goal I just take a break or talk with my parents for encouragement. Oh, and I never stop trying.

Kate needs lots of encouragement if she gets frustrated. She’s learning how to deal with frustration on her own more and more. We’re so proud of her!

4.  Name three things you remember about the divorce process our family experienced.  How did you feel at different times?

One thing I remember was that when he told us he was moving out of the house, the left the next morning, which I was sad about, but I understand now that it was for the best.  The next thing is that when he told us he was gay, I don’t think I was too surprised, not because I knew, but because it didn’t make him any different to me. And the third thing I remember was that you two couldn’t officially divorce for a while.

5.  What types of things have you experienced or thought as a kid who has two daddies who are gay?  What things do you wish would change in people’s minds?

I haven’t really thought much of my dads being gay, because its not offensive to me, but I hear kids at school saying stuff that’s meant to be offensive to other kids. I wouldn’t change people’s minds about it, because they have their beliefs and opinions, but I would want them to see it from a different angle.

She is waiting anxiously by the computer, wanting comments from people.  Like I said, she loves encouragement.  Drop her a line, won’t you?

Blessings,

The Reeses and their Pieces

Kate loves to climb trees. This picture was from a couple of years ago, and she’s even prettier now. Tough to believe it, I know.

18 thoughts on “The Stuff in the Middle

  1. Hi Kate. I’ll talk to you because you’re sensible. ( not like Maddie who will NOT give me a sweetart). You said, yes you did ,”…………….., and seaweed. Seaweed is very healthy for you AND it’s tasty.” Am I talking to a seahorse? I like seahorses. So I must like you Kate. So when are you going to start a silly blog like your mum’s. Got to go. Bye Kate and everyone at home. Take care. Ralph 🙂

    • Hi, its Kate. My mom has let me read a few blog posts, so I’ve noticed that you comment on alot of them, so thanks for being a big supporter of the blog. I do enjoy seaweed alot, so I know that seaweed is an ocean plant, but I don’t think that seahorses eat seaweed. I might need to check my facts on that. I don’t believe I’ll start a blog anytime soon, but if I do I’ll make sure my Mom notifies you.
      Have a nice day!

  2. I really appreciated how you said that your dad didn’t change just because he told you about being gay. Those are pretty awesome words meaning you see a person for who they are. Also I would love to see your mad circus skills with the hoola hoop and the spinner. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi, Kate here. I’m definitely flattered that you’ve said that. I’m very open and controversial about that, so I do see people for who they are, and not anything else. And I do have lots of mad circus skills (:

  3. Great article! Very introspective and completely impressive. Not to mention the fact that I now want an axolotl too. Thanks!

  4. What great answers. You have an amazing demeanor too. Keep up those MAD softball skills! Great job girl. You are super lucky to have 3 amazing parents.

  5. OK, so I dubbed Maddie’s post “Maddie the Wise” — I’m thinking this one should be “Kate the Compassionate.” BEAUTIFUL responses … like Heidi above, I’m moved beyond measure by what you said about your dad’s announcement. I’ve known him since I was a teenager, and what I do know is that he is an amazing person who has a kind heart and an unbelievable amount of pride in his family. Oh yeah, and your mom’s cool, too — I only recently learned this, but I do know it to be true. It shouldn’t surprise me that their kids are pretty darn awesome.

    So… an axolotl, huh? I’m sure my kids would want one too — if they saw a pic of it. Hence, they will not read this post…

    😉

    • Hi I’m Kate. I’m so happy that you said that I was compassionate, I decieded your new name is Mikalee the Nicely (it has to rhyme or have alliteration). And you should give your kids an axolotl so I can pet it if I go there (:

  6. When I was growing up, I had an older sister and younger brother–a middle child. You are lot more mature than I was at you age. Luvya.

  7. Awesome Kate. I am a bit surprised you didn’t mention bacon in your favorite foods :). Great job kiddo. Proud of you. Got to love those rainbow families.

  8. Laura, it’s Emily. Kate hasn’t been able to get on here in the last couple of days, but I read to her what you wrote and she laughed really hard. We are so blessed to have your family in our lives. The Universe is good to us, no? Have fun at the Burn. Love the crazy hair you and Amy got goin’ on.

    Peace,
    Emily Reese

  9. Hey Kate! I read your blog post a few days ago, but then my week went super crazy with work. This is my first chance to sit and respond to your absolutely brilliant post.

    First, I love how you write. You’ve got a great style. I know I’ve said this to your mom, and maybe I said it on Maddie’s post too, but I so wish that we lived closer so that Titus could be friends with you, Maddie, and Thomas. (And, of course, your phenomenal parents!… We could have a rainbow family collective/hippie commune!) The way you express yourself and the types of things you enjoy, think about, and do remind me so much of my kid.

    It seems pretty clear to me that your ability to reflect and gain understanding is not only an asset to your own happiness, but a blessing to other people. That will only expand as you grow older. I’m excited to see how all of your incredibleness blossoms as you grow into adulthood. It is youth like you that make me hopeful that our society will be more loving, less judgmental, and more fair to everyone. When wisdom, compassion, and fairness meet, equality can be born… keep it up, sister.

    Who you are is awesome and what you offer to the world just by being you is incredible!

    hugs!

Leave a Reply

